Wimbledon Championships Winners

Wimbledon has produced several outstanding tennis stars in virtually every decade of its 130 years in existence. Perhaps it is the wonderful tradition of the event, or the fact that it is the last remaining Grand Slam tournament to sport a natural surface, grass. Whatever the reason, Wimbledon has always managed to bring the best out in its contenders.

Wimbledon Championships Winners

Year Men’s Winners Ladies’ Winners
2012 Roger Federer Serena Williams
2011 Novak Djokovic Petra Kvitová
2010 Rafael Nadal Serena Williams
2009 Roger Federer Serena Williams
2008 Rafael Nadal Venus Williams
2007 Roger Federer Venus Williams
2006 Roger Federer Amélie Mauresmo
2005 Roger Federer Venus Williams
2004 Roger Federer Maria Sharapova
2003 Roger Federer Serena Williams
2002 Lleyton Hewitt Serena Williams
2001 Goran Ivaniševic Venus Williams
2000 Pete Sampras Venus Williams
1999 Pete Sampras Lindsay Davenport
1998 Pete Sampras Jana Novotná
1997 Pete Sampras Martina Hingis
1996 Richard Krajicek Steffi Graf
1995 Pete Sampras Steffi Graf
1994 Pete Sampras Conchita Martínez
1993 Pete Sampras Steffi Graf
1992 Andre Agassi Steffi Graf
1991 Michael Stich Steffi Graf
1990 Stefan Edberg Martina Navratilova
1989 Boris Becker Steffi Graf
1988 Stefan Edberg Steffi Graf
1987 Pat Cash Martina Navratilova
1986 Boris Becker Martina Navratilova
1985 Boris Becker Martina Navratilova
1984 John McEnroe Martina Navratilova
1983 John McEnroe Martina Navratilova
1982 Jimmy Connors Martina Navratilova
1981 John McEnroe Chris Evert-Lloyd
1980 Björn Borg Evonne Goolagong Cawley
1979 Björn Borg Martina Navratilova
1978 Björn Borg Martina Navratilova
1977 Björn Borg Virginia Wade
1976 Björn Borg Chris Evert
1975 Arthur Ashe Billie Jean King
1974 Jimmy Connors Chris Evert
1973 Jan Kodeš Billie Jean King
1972 Stan Smith Billie Jean King
1971 John Newcombe Evonne Goolagong Cawley
1970 John Newcombe Margaret Court
1969 Rod Laver Ann Haydon Jones
1968 Rod Laver Billie Jean King
1967 John Newcombe Billie Jean King
1966 Manuel Santana Billie Jean King
1965 Roy Emerson Margaret Court
1964 Roy Emerson Maria Bueno
1963 Chuck McKinley Margaret Court
1962 Rod Laver Karen Hantze Susman
1961 Rod Laver Angela Mortimer Barrett
1960 Neale Fraser Maria Bueno
1959 Alex Olmedo Maria Bueno
1958 Ashley Cooper Althea Gibson
1957 Lew Hoad Althea Gibson
1956 Lew Hoad Shirley Fry Irvin
1955 Tony Trabert Louise Brough Clapp
1954 Jaroslav Drobný Maureen Connolly Brinker
1953 Vic Seixas Maureen Connolly Brinker
1952 Frank Sedgman Maureen Connolly Brinker
1951 Dick Savitt Doris Hart
1950 Budge Patty Louise Brough Clapp
1949 Ted Schroeder Louise Brough Clapp
1948 Bob Falkenburg Louise Brough Clapp
1947 Jack Kramer Margaret Osborne duPont
1946 Yvon Petra Pauline Betz Addie
1945 None None
1944 None None
1943 None None
1942 None None
1941 None None
1940 None None
1939 Bobby Riggs Alice Marble
1938 Don Budge Helen Wills Moody
1937 Don Budge Dorothy Round Little
1936 Fred Perry Helen Jacobs
1935 Fred Perry Helen Wills Moody
1934 Fred Perry Dorothy Round Little
1933 Jack Crawford Helen Wills Moody
1932 Ellsworth Vines Helen Wills Moody
1931 Sidney Wood Cilly Aussem
1930 Bill Tilden Helen Wills Moody
1929 Henri Cochet Helen Wills Moody
1928 René Lacoste Helen Wills Moody
1927 Henri Cochet Helen Wills Moody
1926 Jean Borotra Kitty McKane Godfree
1925 René Lacoste Suzanne Lenglen
1924 Jean Borotra Kitty McKane Godfree
1923 Bill Johnston Suzanne Lenglen
1922 Gerald Patterson Suzanne Lenglen
1921 Bill Tilden Suzanne Lenglen
1920 Bill Tilden Suzanne Lenglen
1919 Gerald Patterson Suzanne Lenglen
1918 None None
1917 None None
1916 None None
1915 None None
1914 Norman Brookes Dorothea Douglass Lambert Chambers
1913 Anthony Wilding Dorothea Douglass Lambert Chambers
1912 Anthony Wilding Ethel Thomson Larcombe
1911 Anthony Wilding Dorothea Douglass Lambert Chambers
1910 Anthony Wilding Dorothea Douglass Lambert Chambers
1909 Arthur Gore Dora Boothby
1908 Arthur Gore Charlotte Cooper Sterry
1907 Norman Brookes May Sutton Bundy
1906 Lawrence Doherty Dorothea Douglass Lambert Chambers
1905 Lawrence Doherty May Sutton Bundy
1904 Lawrence Doherty Dorothea Douglass Lambert Chambers
1903 Lawrence Doherty Dorothea Douglass Lambert Chambers
1902 Lawrence Doherty Muriel Robb
1901 Arthur Gore Charlotte Cooper Sterry
1900 Reginald Doherty Blanche Bingley Hillyard
1899 Reginald Doherty Blanche Bingley Hillyard
1898 Reginald Doherty Charlotte Cooper Sterry
1897 Reginald Doherty Blanche Bingley Hillyard
1896 Harold Mahony Charlotte Cooper Sterry
1895 Wilfred Baddeley Charlotte Cooper Sterry
1894 Joshua Pim Blanche Bingley Hillyard
1893 Joshua Pim Lottie Dod
1892 Wilfred Baddeley Lottie Dod
1891 Wilfred Baddeley Lottie Dod
1890 Willoughby Hamilton Lena Rice
1889 William Renshaw Blanche Bingley Hillyard
1888 Ernest Renshaw Lottie Dod
1887 Herbert Lawford Lottie Dod
1886 William Renshaw Blanche Bingley Hillyard
1885 William Renshaw Maud Watson
1884 William Renshaw Maud Watson
1883 William Renshaw None
1882 William Renshaw None
1881 William Renshaw None
1880 John Hartley None
1879 John Hartley None
1878 Frank Hadow None
1877 Spencer Gore None

There are six players who have excelled on centre court in the open era – Billie Jean King, Bjorn Borg, Pete Sampras, Martina Navratilova, Steffi Graf and Roger Federer.

Martina Navratilova holds the most singles titles, with nine. She is followed up by the indomitable Steffi Graf and Pete Sampras with seven apiece and then it is the turn of the unassailable Billie Jean King, who has claimed six singles crowns.

Several other players have claimed the coveted title more than once – Rod Laver, John Newcombe, the wayward Jimmy Connors and the decorous Stefan Edberg have lifted the ornate silver cup to the heavens on two occasions, whilst German, Boris Becker, the belligerent John McEnroe and Chris Evert have claimed the singles crown thrice. Venus Williams has also claimed the Rosewater Dish on five occasions.